Living with Intention by Setting Goals Aligned with Your Values

Having values that are in line with your goals makes success much easier.

Lorna Harvey
4 min readMay 25, 2024
Image by the author via Canva

I’ve been writing goals for decades. Some of those goals I’ve obtained, but there are plenty of goals I never reached.

Looking back now, I can see that many of my goals were not aligned with my values. Unfortunately, at the time, I didn’t know what my values were, so that was a big problem.

If you’re not as successful as you’d like to be, there’s a good possibility that your goals and values aren’t aligned. Success is virtually impossible if our ambitions contradict our principles. We don’t like to act in ways that contradict our ideals. If a mismatch occurs, something must be given.

If you’re always falling short of your dreams, your values may be in conflict with your goals.

Set goals that align with your beliefs using the following techniques:

1. List your current values. Have you ever examined your values? Most people never give their values a second thought. This is a shame because a person’s values influence their thoughts, decisions, and behaviors.

Spend 30 minutes listing your values. Put them in order of importance to you.

Consider whether your behavior aligns with your values. If there is a mismatch, which set of data would accurately…

--

--

Lorna Harvey

I’m a blogger, writer, and interested in helping people find answers for living their best life. I also write on https://www.createthebestlife.com/.