Do You Have a Love Language?

Learning and using these love languages has the potential to greatly strengthen bonds with those we care about.

Lorna Harvey


Image by the author via Canva

Individuals express love and appreciation in different ways, and by figuring out and responding to each person’s preferred method of expression, you are recognizing and appreciating their own emotional needs.

For example, when a spouse takes the initiative to assist with tasks or obligations, someone whose primary love language is acts of service may feel extremely cared for.

Hearing words of love and gratitude, on the other hand, may bring comfort and happiness to someone who needs confirmation.

Which language do you use for love? Receiving gifts and words of affirmation are mine.

What are the Five Languages?

In a relationship, the five love languages explain how individuals express and receive love. These include words of affirmation, quality time, physical touch, acts of service, and receiving gifts.

It might make you both feel loved and valued to know your partner’s preferred language and to communicate yours to them.

Words of Affirmation: First and foremost, words of affirmation are associated with praise, support, approval, acknowledgment, and being appreciated for an act. For me, this means getting a compliment for something I’ve done for them or a boss telling me I did a good job. I think we all want to be acknowledged.

Quality Time: People who value quality time above all else want to spend it doing something they enjoy with the person they care about. They are sharing a moment of intimacy. Quality time doesn’t have to be spent with a loved one to be meaningful; it may be spent with anyone who is important to us.

Physical Touch: Physical touch is regarded as one of the nonverbal love languages. Desiring physical touch is typically more about feeling noticed and safe than it is about satiating sensual needs.

Acts of Service: This refers to how a person shows their partner that they care by performing an act of service. They feel that when it comes to showing their relationship that they care, there’s no better way…



Lorna Harvey

I’m a blogger, writer, and interested in helping people find answers for living their best life. I also write on